Where is wheat found?
Wheat can be found in a host of food products including:5 baked goods, baking mixes, bread, bread crumbs, breaded food, breakfast cereal, bulgur, couscous, cracker meal, durum, einkorn, emmer, farina, farro, flour (multiple varieties), matzoh, pasta, seitan, semolina, spelt, triticale, and wheat germ oil.
Additional potential sources of wheat include:2,3,5,7 Asian dishes with wheat flour shaped like animal proteins, batter-fried foods, beer, candy, dairy products such as ice cream, glucose syrup, hydrolyzed vegetable and wheat protein (HVP), imitation crab meat, marinara sauce, meat products such as hot dogs, modified starch and raising agents such as baking powder, natural flavorings, oats, potato chips (crisps), salad dressings, sauces, soy sauce, turkey patties, and vegetable gum.
In some allergic individuals, inhaling wheat flour can also cause a condition that's sometimes called baker's asthma and elicits symptoms of allergic rhinitis (aka hay fever).2,6 The condition's name is derived from the fact that it's a common occupational issue with bakers and those with repeated contact with wheat flour.6
Those with a wheat allergy may also develop allergic urticaria (aka hives) after coming in contact with cosmetics that contain wheat.2 Nonfood items including play dough, bath products, and cosmetics may contain wheat.2,3,5,7
Note that a gluten-free product isn't necessarily wheat free. Rather, the labeling indicates that the item contains a safe level of gluten for those with celiac disease. Since some wheat allergic individuals react to less than 20 parts per million, gluten-free foods aren't considered safe for those with a wheat allergy.7 Buckwheat, however, isn't related to wheat and may be tolerated by wheat-allergic individuals.5